| Home | Go Back | Hand of the Day | Standard American Lessons | Acol Lessons |

Bridge Practice 'Hand of the Day'

Overcall or takeout double - sometimes silence is golden

How do I know when to stop bidding after overcalling


Please Login or Register for a Free Trial to view the expert commentary below.


Bidding

The opposition open the bidding 1H - you need to choose should you make a takeout double ('X')? or overcall (2C). A takeout double says you hold 3 cards in all the unbid suits which you do, you can save into the club suit if partner passes. Don't be tempted to keep bidding after partners pass, partner would bid if he had cards or points to support you. All Pass

Acol Bidding

The opposition open the bidding 1H - you need to choose should you make a takeout double ('X')? or overcall (2C). A takeout double says you hold 3 cards in all the unbid suits which you do, you can save into the club suit if partner passes. Don't be tempted to keep bidding after partners pass, partner would bid if he had cards or points to support you. All Pass

Plan Before You Play

Opening lead choices are the heart singleton (E/W have a lot of them so maybe you can get a ruff, or 4th highest from longest and strongest suit (8C) or top of a sequence (QC, JC, 10C) . If you can ruff hearts and maybe partner can ruff clubs (since you have so many of them).

The Play

Lead a club (top of a sequence) which is an attacking opening. Declarer wins and starts drawing trumps , you play low on the first round and partner wins with JD, returning your club lead which dummy also wins. you win the second round of trumps, lead your singleton heart which declarer also wins and he draws another round of trumps which you win. Lead out your AS before declarer discards his losing spades in hand. After that it doesn't matter what you play, your partner wins the KH and declarer has all the rest of the tricks.

Comment

Even if you disobey the rules and bid 3C after partners pass of your takeout double, the opposition still bid up to 3D. Either lead gives you 50 points by taking opposition light. If you make a penalty double after the 3D bid you can double your points

The above commentary is intended as a guideline only. As with any Bridge hand there are many ways to bid and play any hand.

Whats Next?

LOGIN or REGISTER FOR A FREE TRIAL to access hundreds of Bridge lessons and games for Acol and Standard American Bridge players.

Daily Competition

Standard American
Play all Previous Hands of the Day
Guided Practice Hands
Unlimited Practice Hands

Acol
Play all Previous Hands of the Day
Guided Practice Hands
Unlimited Bridge Practice Hands

Please Login to Play